The Odd Two-Point Play That Puzzled a Coach
Sean McVay, the Rams' coach, recently found himself in a confusing situation after a wild two-point conversion in a game against the Seahawks. This play tied the score, and McVay wasn't happy with how it went down.
He explained, "It's a technicality issue." The rule says that fumbles can't be advanced under two minutes on two-point plays or fourth downs. But in this case, the play was called a backward pass, so it could be advanced. McVay isn't a fan of this rule. He thinks it's not something that should happen in the game.
He also pointed out that reviewing these plays is tricky. Officials have to decide if it's a forward pass or a backward pass. In this case, the play was reviewed after the whistle had already blown. Because it was called a backward pass, the ball could be advanced, and the two-point conversion was successful.
McVay's concerns remind people of a similar situation in a Steelers-Ravens game. Mike Tomlin, the Steelers' coach, didn't question a confusing catch rule that benefited his team. It's unclear if the league will change the rules regarding backward passes. The main rule that kept the ball alive in this situation was changed in 2009.
McVay's main point is that there's a difference between a fumble and a backward pass. He said, "It'd be like if you fumble the ball on a toss, you can pick it up and advance it." He thinks these plays should be addressed to eliminate them from happening. He also acknowledged that there are many layers to the rules and that there's a lot of empathy for the officials.
McVay believes that no one thinks plays like that should count as conversions. He said he would feel the same way even if it benefited his team. Seahawks coach Mike Macdonald, whose team benefited from the play, has not expressed any concerns. The real question is whether the Competition Committee or the owners will agree with McVay's belief that backward passes should be treated like fumbles.